SO, since I'm here to actually learn how to draw, I'm curious about how everyone else learned to draw.  Was it a gift you were just born with? Do you practice? Do you stick with one particular area of expertise? Do you think it's better to try to mimic a photo or something, or just freehand stuff, as far as practicing goes?

First off- hey, welcome to the site! And for how I learned to draw... I guess i've done all the things you've listed. My dad liked to draw, so I guess I kind of got that from him, I practice a LOT, and I mostly stick with manga (though I draw some animals, flowers, realistic people and such).

I mimic photos sometimes, but I usually change the pose or some features if I can help it. But mostly I go freehand, looking at some reference images if I need to.

I learned starting by mimicing my oldest friend (since I was 4, but haven't seen him since I was 11) style. Later on, I started drawing my own style. I got better and better at it. You see the final results in my drawings and tutorials. I do draw way better with a pencil instead of a mouse, even though I practice with the mouse more than pencil.

Welcome to Drawingnow!

For your question.I was bad as before, drawing was not my talent in the first place, but when I saw people drwing, I just sudden love the color and I felt cool about what I could  do with pencil.After 4 years practice, I got better and that's how I went and art had become my talent.So the point is you don't need to be gifted when you were born to be an art lover, an artist, it's how you find out your passion, your love with art.That's how I think and after that, when I got used to drawing on paper I drew on computer, started with Ms paint.Good luck and have fun while practice to draw

Welcome to Drawingnow!