A little something i felt i should type up, so here you have what i have learned through experience.

1. Everyone is an artist and by everyone i mean everyone, yeah even that creepy neighbor who is always yelling stuff at 3 am. we are all born with art in our blood but through time most people tend to forget about it and it meaning, there is this story:

F: Father  D: Daughter

"f: one day when i came home from work my daughter greeted me at the door d: welcome home dad!   f: thanks sweetie,   D: dad   f: what is it sweetie? d: today at school our teacher asked us what our dad did for a living and i didn't know what you do,     f: oh well , im an art teacher, i teach other people how to draw and paint   d: grown ups forget how to draw? " yeah thats pretty much the whole story the point is that we all *know* how to draw (paint...etc) but through time we get into different stuff and what not and we just forget about it. what i believe is that even if you can only draw a stick figure well that stick figure is unique why? because you drew it and because no matter what technique (or where you started) the stick figure is absolutely perfect because its your own style, you are the master an no one can beat you at it. 

2. you have to be humble (modest) about your art. Just because you are *good* and by good i mean at a certain style maybe your own or some other. realistic, crosshatching you name it. does not give you the right to criticize in a bad way other's people's art, (i think it sucks, not good, ) just because yours is *better* ,an artist does not do that. thats not an artist.

3. There is no right or wrong in art whatever you draw or paint is perfect the way it is, Lee Hammond said once "whatever the artist draws is what he sees" is you are trying to draw from a picture and it doesn't look the same, well thats how you saw the picture and the style you used to draw it.